

2017 AWARDS CEREMONY

University of Pennsylvania School of Design Sunday, May 14, 2017

UNIVERSITY of PENNSYLVANIA

Department of Architecture

American Institute of Architects Henry Adams Medal

The first prize medal is awarded to the top-ranking student in the professional degree program with the highest record in all courses.

First Prize: Alexander Marc Tahinos

The second prize is awarded to the student in the professional degree program with the second highest record in all courses.

Second Prize: Daniel Fachler Rudelman

Arthur Spayd Brooke Memorial Prize

Established in 1900 in memory of Arthur Spayd Brooke, a graduate of the School of Architecture, and awarded to graduating architecture students for distinguished work in architectural design. Former winners include Julian Abele, Louis I. Kahn, and Jenny Sabin.

Awarded to: Michael Patrick O'Neill Awarded to: Ya Wen Angela Huang

Paul Philippe Cret Medal

Founded by the Architectural Alumni Society in 1946, awarded to the graduating student who has consistently demonstrated excellence in design in the Master in Architecture professional degree program.

Awarded to: Alexander Marc Tahinos

Alpha Rho Chi Medal

Awarded to a graduating architecture student for leadership, willing service, and promise of professional merit.

Awarded to: Katie Ann McBride

Warren Powers Laird Award

Named for Warren Powers Laird (1861-1948), the first Dean of the School of Fine Arts (now PennDesign). Awarded to a student with the highest standing in all courses in the first year of the professional degree program in architecture.

Awarded to: Ariel Nicolas Cooke-Zamora, Ryan Thomas Henriksen, Cheuk Wai Lam, Katherine Anne Lanski, Kurt Alexander Nelson, Grace Soejanto

Charles Merrick Gay Scholarship

Awarded to the student who has shown outstanding ability in architectural construction and a realization of its relationship to design.

Awarded to: Daniel Silverman

Frank Miles Day Memorial Prize

Named for Towne School graduate and architect of Penn's Houston Hall, University Museum, Weightman Hall, and Franklin Field. Awarded to the architecture student submitting the best essay in courses in the history and theory of architecture.

Awarded to: Daniel Silverman

Harlan Coornvelt Memorial Medal

Established in 1975 in memory of Harlan Coornvelt, who served as an Associate Professor of Architecture at the School of Design from 1968 until his death in 1973. Awarded to the student who achieved the most outstanding record in required architectural structure courses.

Awarded to: Ryan Thomas Henriksen

Mario J. Romanach Fellowship

Established in 1984 in memory of one of Penn's most beloved teachers, the fellowship is awarded to a student entering the final year in the professional degree program, for demonstrated excellence in design, a love for architecture, and the determination to develop as an architect. Mario J. Romanach served as Professor of Architecture from 1962 until his death in March 1984. He was Chairman of the Department of Architecture from 1971 to 1974.

Awarded to: Adam George Schroth

Faculty Prize

Awarded to students who have demonstrated exceptional growth and development.

Awarded to: Caroline Marie Morgan

Walter R. Leach II Fellowship

Established in memory of Walter R. Leach II, M.Arch '67, this fellowship is awarded on the basis of academic merit to students entering the third year.

Awarded to: Kailin Wang

T-Square Club Fellowship

Established in 1984 and awarded annually for excellence in design to a student who has just completed the first year. Among the patrons and members of the T-Square Atelier were Penn professors Paul Philippe Cret, Walter P. Laird, John Harbeson, Jean Hebrand and Norman Rice.

Awarded to: Elizabeth Anne Heldridge

Samuel K. Schneidman Fellowship

Established in memory of Samuel K. Schneidman and awarded to second or third year students in the professional degree program on the basis of demonstrated excellence.

Awarded to: Lillian Marie Candela

Will M. Mehlhorn Scholarship

Established in 1989 through a bequest by Will M. Mehlhorn, BFA '30, former architectural editor of House and Garden. Awarded to the students who have done the best work in the theory sequence.

Master of Architecture Professional Degree First-Year Students First Prize: Uroosa Ijaz Second Prize: Mariela Hernandez

Second-Year Students First Prize: Joud Saleh Baothman Second Prize: Michael Ockrant Shafir

Ph.D. Architecture First Prize: Miranda Elizabeth Mote Second Prize: Zhengyang Hua

M.S. Architecture First Prize: Isabel Cristina Brostella

PPD Prize in Design Excellence

This prize is awarded annually to a student in the Post-Professional degree program whose work is judged by the design faculty to be excellent, in consideration of the GPA and design portfolio.

Awarded to: Yifeng Zhao and Ryosuke Imaeda

Department of City and Regional Planning

David A. Wallace Award

Named for a founding partner of the groundbreaking urban design firm Wallace McHarg Roberts & Todd; and professor in the School of Design's Department of City and Regional Planning for eighteen years. Awarded for the highest academic performance in the second-year class.

Awarded to: To Be Announced

Department of Landscape Architecture

American Society of Landscape Architecture Awards

Certificates of Honor and Merit awarded to graduating landscape architecture students who have demonstrated outstanding potential for contributions to the profession.

Certificate of Honor: Zhengneng Chen, Sean McKay, and Le Xu

Certificate of Merit: Colin Patrick Curley, François Alain Poupeau, and Shilei Lu

All School Awards

Bonnie and Gary Sellers Summer Internship Fellowship

Established by Bonnie and Gary Sellers to allow students to pursue unfunded or under-funded summer internships or jobs in the design fields.

Awarded to: Catherine Elizabeth Droser

University of Pennsylvania School of Design Office of Development & Alumni Relations 102 Meyerson Hall, 210 South 34th Street Philadelphia, PA 19104 215.898.8738 | pdalumni@design.upenn.edu