Celebrating the design leaders of today and tomorrow.

AboutWatch the Video


The Weitzman School Awards celebrate the achievements of visionary Weitzman students, faculty, and alumni, as well as leaders in architecture and planning outside of our community—while building support for the next generation. All proceeds from the event will directly support student scholarships in architecture and city and regional planning at the Weitzman School, ensuring that the cost of attending the School is not a barrier for students of all backgrounds. 

The Stuart Weitzman School of Design Awards

alt text

The Kanter Tritsch Prize in Energy and Architectural Innovation and The Kanter Tritsch Medal in Architecture

Established in 2017 by a generous gift from Weitzman School of Design alumna Lori Kanter Tritsch and Penn Trustee and Wharton alumnus William P. Lauder, the Kanter Tritsch Prize is awarded annually to a second-year Master of Architecture student in the form of a $50,000 scholarship, which covers the bulk of tuition and fees in the final year of study. Every year, the Weitzman School of Design also awards a Medal to a practicing architect or architects for leadership in energy and architectural innovation.

alt text

The Witte-Sakamoto Family Prize and Medal in City and Regional Planning

Established in 2018 by a generous gift from Weitzman School of Design alumnus Bill Witte and his wife Keiko Sakamoto, the Witte-Sakamoto Family Prize in City and Regional Planning provides a $50,000 scholarship, awarded annually to a student entering their final year in the Master of City and Regional Planning program, which covers the bulk of tuition and fees in the final year of study. In conjunction with the Prize, the School presents an annual Medal to a firm, team, or professional for an exemplary plan that advances plan-making in at least four of the following areas: social equity, environmental quality, design, public health, mobility, housing affordability, and economic development.

Stuart Weitzman School of Design Leadership

Weitzman Leadership

  • Frederick SteinerDean and Paley Professor
  • Chris CataldoDirector of Finance and Administration
  • Winka DubbeldamMiller Professor and Chair of Architecture
  • Leslie HurtigVice Dean for Administration
  • Michael GrantSenior Director of Communications
  • Alex JarymorychDirector of IT Services
  • Ken LumMarilyn Taylor Presidential Professor and Chair of Fine Arts
  • Frank MateroProfessor of Architecture and Chair of the Graduate Program in Historic Preservation
  • Emily McCullyDirector of Student Services
  • Kali MeeksAssociate Director for Professional Development and Leadership 
  • Matt NeffDirector of the Undergraduate Program in Fine Arts
  • Lisa ServonKevin and Erica Penn Presidential Professor and Chair of City and Regional Planning
  • Jeff SnyderAssistant Dean of Development and Alumni Relations
  • Karyn TufaroloDirector of Faculty Affairs Diversity/Equity/Inclusion Initiatives & Online Learning Initiatives
  • Richard WellerMartin and Margy Meyerson Chair of Urbanism and Chair of Landscape Architecture
  • Karl WellmanDirector of Operations and Planning
  • Richard WesleyUndergraduate Chair of Architecture and Adjunct Professor
  • Joan WestonDirector of Admissions

Weitzman Board of Advisors

  • Kevin Penn, Chair
  • John Carrafiell
  • Roberta Fine  Dranoff
  • Jeffrey Fine
  • Mark Gardner
  • Laurence Goldberg
  • Jay Goldman
  • Mark Goldstein
  • Eric Gribetz
  • Michael Halpern
  • Mason Haupt
  • Albert Kalimian
  • Lori  Kanter Tritsch
  • Jeffrey Kaplan
  • Scott  Kleinman
  • A. Eugene Kohn
  • Steven Lefkowitz
  • Nathan Leight 
  • Richard Linhart
  • Timothy Rub, ex officio
  • Bonnie Stone Sellers
  • Amrita Sen
  • Gary Siegler
  • Patricia Pickman Udell
  • Stuart Weitzman
  • Barbara Wilks ​
  • Michelle  Kroiz  Winn
  • Bill  Witte