Graduate Architecture

Posted December 23, 2019
  • Alum Susan Maxman received AIA Philadelphia's 2019 John Frederick Harbeson Award

Weitzman Honorees at the AIA Philadelphia Annual Awards

Faculty members and graduates of the Weitzman School were among the individuals and firms honored on December 5 at the AIA Philadelphia Annual Awards, which marked the culmination of AIA Philadelphia’s 150th anniversary year.

Alum Susan Abel Maxman (MArch’77), founding principal of Susan Maxman Architects/SMP Architects, received the John Frederick Harbeson Award. The award is presented annually to a long-standing member of the architectural community to recognize “significant contributions over [a] lifetime to the architectural profession and its related disciplines.” 

In its announcement, AIA Philadelphia noted that Maxman “has been blazing trails for female architects in Philadelphia since founding her first firm Maxman/Sutphin Associates in 1980, just three years after graduating from the University of Pennsylvania with her master’s degree in architecture.”

DIGSAU, where alum Mark Sanderson (MArch’00) is a principal and numerous Penn graduates are project architects and designers, received the Gold Medal Award, an award honoring the year’s best built project, for their work on the PPR Apartments. DIGSAU was also recognized for the Discovery Center, an urban bird sanctuary and leadership development center conceived in partnership between The Audubon Society of Pennsylvania, Outward Bound Philadelphia, and the Strawberry Mansion neighborhood. 

The Silver Medal Award went to the Philadelphia architecture and interior design studio Moto Designshop, where Roman Torres (MArch’04) is the design director; he and Adam Montalbano (MArch’04) are the firm’s founding partners.

Among the Philadelphia-area firms honored for excellence in design for 2019 were: Atkin Olshin Schade Architects, led by alum Sam Olshin (MArch’86); Erdy McHenry Architecture, where Architecture Lecturer Scott Erdy is a principal; Ewing Cole; ISA, where Architecture Lecturer Brian Phillips (MArch’96) is a principal; Studio 6mm, where alum Brian Szymanik (MArch'04) is a principal; KieranTimberlake, led by alums Stephen Kieran (MArch’76) and James Timberlake (MArch’77); Bohlin Cywinski Jackson, where David Murray (MArch'89) is a principal, and Patreese Martin (MArch'84) is an associate principal, was honored for two projects, including Penn’s own Lauder College House; and PORT Urbanism, led by Associate Professor of Landscape Architecture Chris Marcinkoski and Andrew Moddrell.

The Richards Medial Research Laboratories, designed legendary faculty member by Louis I. Kahn, received a Merit Award in the Historic Preservation/Adaptive Reuse Built Category.

Visit the AIA Philadelphia’s website for the complete list of honorees.

Is your firm missing from this article? Contact to let us know.