Historic Preservation

Posted April 8, 2020
  • Esperanza Health Center

Weitzman Alums Receive Preservation Awards

The Preservation Alliance for Greater Philadelphia announced its 2020 Preservation Achievement Awards for exemplary historic preservation projects. Many Weitzman alums had a role in the list of 22 projects that received Grand Jury Awards.  The awarded projects range from the preservation of Lazaretto, the first quarantine hospital in the United States, to the refurbishment of the soaring Frank Furness-designed transepts of St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church.

In addition, Sara Jane (Sally) Elk (MSHP’85) is the recipient of the James Biddle Award for lifetime achievement in historic preservation. Elk is the longtime president and CEO of Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site, Inc. The Preservation Alliance notes that her leadership “has made the Philadelphia penal complex–one of the first of its kind in the world–an attractive destination for hundreds of thousands of visitors each year.”

Weitzman alums from many firms were recognized with Grand Jury Awards including:

  • Aaron Cohen (MCP’03) of Arts + Carfts Holdings for 915 Spring Garden
  • John Fox Hayes (MArch’82) of Blackney Hayes Architects for A. Mecky Company Buildings
  • Logan I. Ferguson (MSHP’06) and Kevin McMahon (MSHP’11) of Powers & Company for multiple projects, including the Village of St. John
  • John Carr (MSHP’95), Kristin Cardi (MSHP’97), David Facenda (MSHP’02), Andrew Fearon (MSHP’06), Marco Federico (MSHP’08), Sara Gdula (MSHP’18), and Leigh Hassler (MSHP’06)  for Al Capone’s Cell at Eastern State Penitentiary and the Old Pine Fence
  • Douglas Seiler (MArch’82) and Michael Drury (MArch’94) of Seiler + Drury Architecture for Charles Schaffer School
  • David B. Brawer (MArch’76) and Michael I. Hauptman (MArch’76) of Brawer & Hauptman Architects for Esperanza Health Center and Infill Philadelphia Sacred Places / Civic Spaces
  • Sam Olshin (MArch’86), Michael Schade (MArch’83), Shawn Evans (MArch’95), and Lisa Dustin (MArch’92) of Atkin Olshin Schade Architects for First Presbyterian Church in Philadelphia
  • Christopher Frey (MSHP’97) of Keystone Preservation Group for The Furness Burial Cloister
  • T. Scott Kreilick (MSHP’00) of Kreilick Conservation for Historic Lazaretto
  • Christina Burris (MSHP’05) of Historic Building Architects for Princeton Friends School, Schoolmaster's House
  • Becky Sell (MSHP’05) of Ascent Restoration for St. Agatha-St. James Parish.

A ceremony for the 2020 Annual Preservation Achievement Awards will be held on Tuesday, September 29, 2020.