Landscape Architecture

Posted October 12, 2018
  • Image from Anne Whiston Spirn's (MLA’74) 'Marnas: A Journey through Space, Time, and Ideas.'

PennDesign in the Spotlight at ASLA

At next week’s Annual Meeting of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA), the work of a number of PennDesign faculty, alumni, and students will highlighted.

The ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO is considered to be the largest gathering of landscape architects in the world, and is in Philadelphia from October 19-22. Among the faculty members who will be making presentations at the conference are:

  • Billy Fleming, Wilks Family Director, The Ian L. McHarg Center for Urbanism and Ecology
  • Rebecca Popowsky, Lecturer, Department of Landscape Architecture
  • Frederick Steiner, Dean and Paley Professor, Co-Executive Director, The McHarg Center for Urbanism and Ecology
  • Lucinda R. Sanders, Adjunct Professor of Landscape Archtitecture

Highlights of the conference also include a public conversation between Laurie Olin, practice professor emeritus, and journalist Susan Stamberg.

Also at the conference, several PennDesign faculty, alumni, and students will be formally recognized as recipients of ASLA Professional Awards. Richard Weller, Meyerson Chair of Urbanism and Professor and Chair of Landscape Architecture and Co-executive director of The McHarg Center at PennDesign, received an Honor Award for his web-based publication Atlas for the End of the World (Atlas for the Beginning of the Anthropocene). Alumna Anne Whiston Spirn (MLA’74) received a Communications Honor Award for Marnas: A Journey through Space, Time, and Ideas. The firm founded and led by Professor Emeritus James Corner (MLA’86) received an award for its design of Tongva Paarl and Ken Genser Square in Santa Monica, CA. Two PennDesign students, Douglas A. Breuer and Cyrus Sohrab Khan, received ASLA Student Awards.

PennDesign is also represented among the recipients of the ASLA 2018 Honors, the highest awards that the organization presents each year. Alumna Linda Jewell (MLA’75) was selected to receive the ASLA Medal. The Landscape Architecture Firm Award went to Andropogon Associates, the Philadelphia and Raleigh-based firm whose founder and partners, including Carol Franklin (MLA’65), José M. Almiñana, and Yaki Miodovnik, have taught at PennDesign.

Timothy Baird (MLA’80) and Corner will be two of 31 ASLA members elected to the ASLA Council of Fellows for their contributions to the landscape architecture profession.

PennDesign is hosting an alumni reception to coincide with the conference. Dean and Paley Professor Fritz Steiner welcomes alumni and friends from the landscape architecture community back to campus on Saturday, October 20.