Graduate Architecture

Accreditation Information

Statement on NAAB Accredited Degrees 

The University of Pennsylvania’s Master of Architecture (3 year program) is accredited by the NAAB. The following statement is included in the catalog, pursuant to the requirement of the NAAB:

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture, offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Master of Architecture degree programs may require a pre-professional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission.  However, the preprofessional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The University of Pennsylvania School of Design Department of Architecture offers the following NAAB accredited degree programs:

[Baccalaureate degree (any discipline; and typically 124 undergraduate credit hours) + plus 84 graduate semester credit hours]


Access to Conditions and Procedures

For more information on the Conditions and Procedures for NAAB accreditation please see the following links:

Public Access to APRs and VTRs

Architecture Program Report

Visiting Team Report 2016