City and Regional Planning

The Graduate Group in City and Regional Planning draws faculty from the University. While the University governs the basic PhD requirements,  the Graduate Group Faculty are responsible for discipline-related requirements, admissions  the supervision of qualifying and candidacy examinations and the dissertation. In consultation with the Graduate Group chair, PhD students select the chairs of their examining and dissertation committees from the following list:

Francesca Ammon, Associate Professor of City & Regional Planning (Weitzman School) fammon@design.upenn.edu

 

Nikhil Anand, Assistant Professor of Anthropology (SAS) nikhil.anand@sas.upenn.edu

 

Euge╠ünie L. Birch, Lawrence C. Nussdorf Professor of Urban Research and Education (Weitzman School) elbirch@design.upenn.edu

 

Ram Cnaan, Professor of Social Work (School of Social Policy and Practice) cnaan@sp2.upenn.edu

 

Thomas L. Daniels, Crossways Professor of City and Regional Planning (Weitzman School) thomasld@design.upenn.edu

 

Akira Drake Rodriguez, Assistant Professor of City and Regional Planning (Weitzman School) akriad@design.upenn.edu 

 

Gilles Duranton, Dean's Professor of Real Estate (Wharton) duranton@wharton.upenn.edu 

 

David Grazian, Professor of Sociology and Communications (SAS) dgrazian@soc.upenn.edu 

 

Erick Guerra, Associate Professor of City and Regional Planning (Weitzman School) erickg@design.upenn.edu

 

David Gouverneur, Associate Professor of Practice, City and Regional Planning and Landscape Architecture (Weitzman School) dgg@design.upenn.edu

 

Amy Hillier, Associate Professor of Social Policy & Practice (Social Policy & Practice) ahillier@upenn.edu 

 

Mark Alan Hughes, Professor of Practice (Weitzman School) mahughes@upenn.edu

 

Allison Lassiter, Assistant Professor of City & Regional Planning (Weitzman School) alass@design.upenn.edu

 

Zhongjie Lin, Associate Professor of City and Regional Planning (Weitzman School) zlin@design.upenn.edu

 

Randall F. Mason, Professor of City and Regional Planning & Historic Preservation (Weitzman School) rfmason@design.upenn.edu

 

Lisa Mitchell, Associate Professor of South Asia Studies (SAS) lmitch@sas.upenn.edu

 

Laura Perna, Professor of Education (Education) lperna@gse.upenn.edu

 

Vincent Reina, Associate Professor of City & Regional Planning (Weitzman School) vreina@design.upenn.edu

 

Megan Ryerson, UPS Associate Professor of Transportation (Weitzman School) mryerson@design.upenn.edu

 

Lisa Servon, Kevin and Erica Penn Presidential Professor of City & Regional Planning (Weitzman School) servon@upenn.edu 

 

Frederick R. Steiner Paley Professor and Dean (School of Design) fsteiner@design.upenn.edu

 

Mark Stern, Professor of Social Welfare and History stern@sp2.upenn.edu

 

Marilyn Jordan Taylor, Professor of Architecture and Urban Design (Weitzman School) mjtaylor@design.upenn.edu 

 

Domenic Vitiello, Associate Professor of City and Regional Planning (Weitzman School) vitiello@design.upenn.edu

 

Susan M. Wachter, Richard B. Worley Professor of Financial Management; Professor of Real Estate and Finance (Wharton and Weitzman School) wachter@wharton.upenn.edu

 

Richard Weller, Professor and Chairman, Martin and Margy Meyerson Chair of Urbanism, Landscape Architecture (Weitzman School) rjweller@design.upenn.edu